20 Second Dig yields silver

So in what has to be the quickest quick dig ever I found a 1941S silver quarter. I was driving home from work and decided to go a different route. I’m always on the lookout for old clotheslines. I spot one and the gentleman who owns the house was outside. I stopped, introduced myself, and began talking to him about the possibility of hunting his old clothesline. Come to find out he did metal detecting as well, But hadn’t really started hunting his own yard, as he had recently moved back to the area.
I asked him what kind of detector he had he showed me an older basic model. I actually never even found out what the model was.
I asked him if he had seen any of the newer detectors and he said no. So since I always have my Garrett ATGold in the truck I decided to show it to him. I turned it on and didn’t even ground balance it before I picked up a quarter signal. I dug it up and lo and behold it was a 1941 silver quarter. How crazy is that? Needless to say, we will be hunting in that area again.

-Jason

20140310-173332.jpg

Leave a Reply

